

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Cherokee Nation Tribal Council 17763 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Legislation Text

File #: 11-011, Version: 1

A LEGISLATIVE ACT RELATED TO TITLE 26 "ELECTIONS" AS AMENDED BY LEGISLATIVE ACT 06 -10 AND LEGISLATIVE ACT 22-10 AND LEGISLATIVE ACT 32-10 ASSIGNING SEAT DESIGNATIONS AND SETTING EFFECTIVE DATE

BE IT ENACTED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION:

Section 1. Title and Codification

This act shall be referred as the "Tribal Council Seat Designation Act of 2010" and codified as Title 26 Sections 5 of the Cherokee Nation Code Annotated ("CNCA").

Section 2. Purpose

The purpose of this Act is to designate seats for the five (5) Tribal Council Districts created under Legislative Act 22-10.

Section 3. Legislative History

L.A. 32-10

Section 4. Definitions

"Unoccupied Seat" means a seat for which no incumbent is designated.

Section 5. Substantive Provisions

(New) § 5 (E):

Beginning with the Tribal Council election of 2011, the following designation of seats shall be enacted:

District 1:

Seat 1 (A 6 year term with incumbent being Councilperson Bill John Baker)

Seat 2 (A 4 year term with the incumbent being Councilperson Tina Glory Jordan)

Seat 3 (A 4 year term unoccupied)

District 2:

Seat 1 (A 6 year term with the incumbent being Councilperson Joe Crittenden)

Seat 2 (A 6 year term with the incumbent being Councilperson Curtis Snell)

Seat 3 (A 4 year term with the incumbents being Councilpersons Jodie Fishinghawk and Harley Buzzard)

District 3:

File #: 11-011, Version: 1

- Seat 1 (A 6 year term with the incumbent being Councilperson Don Garvin)
- Seat 2 (A 4 year term with the incumbent being Councilperson Janelle Fullbright)
- Seat 3 (A 6 year term with the incumbent being Councilperson David Thornton)

District 4:

- Seat 1 (A 6 year term with the incumbent being Councilperson Meredith Frailey)
- Seat 2 (A 4 year term with the incumbents being Councilpersons Chris Soap and Bradley Cobb)
- Seat 3 (A 6 year term with the incumbent being Councilperson Chuck Hoskin, Jr.)

District 5:

- Seat 1 (A 6 year term with the incumbent being Councilperson Buel Anglen)
- Seat 2 (A 4 year term with the incumbent being Councilperson Cara Cowan Watts)
- Seat 3 (A 4 year term unoccupied)

To enact the provisions of Legislative Act 7-07 all 4 year term seats shall be up for election in 2011. All 6 year term seats shall be up for election in 2013, thereafter all Tribal Council terms shall be 4 year terms.

Section 6. Severability

The provisions of this act are severable and if any part of provision hereof shall be held void or invalid by a court of competent jurisdiction the decision of the court so holding shall not affect or impair any of the remaining parts or provisions of this Act.

Section 7. Emergency Declared

It being immediately necessary for the welfare of the Cherokee Nation, the Council hereby declares that an emergency exists, by reason whereof this Act shall take effect and be in full force after its passage and approval.